Thread: Newbie- why won’t my boat go

Forum Reader

Newbie- why won’t my boat go

I am new to this and very frustrated. A few years ago I started getting parts to build a mini air boat for my son. I’m not into boats or fishing, but like a good project. 12’ aluminum hull with poly, weighs 800 lbs, 4A084 engine, reduction drive, intake, Mikuni carb, headers IVO 64” adjustable prop. I got all the parts from Chuck at Air boat Pros. He’s been very helpful, but haven’t been able to get ahold of him. It took 7 different technicians to find someone to get the carb tuned right. Finally an aviation mechanic got it running like a top, BUT it just won’t Go !! Makes a lot of noise, but doubt it goes 7 mph, won’t run dry land. Goes pretty good on ice. I can set it to run 3,600 rpm, but presently set pitch so it max’s Out at 3,300. It just won’t go. I’ll try to post pics and have a walk around video. I need help. My son and I just want to get it going so we can sell it.
    Attached Images Attached Images     
    Last edited by SDtex; 06-24-2018 at 01:03 PM.

Re: Newbie- why won’t my boat go

OK I'm going to be brutally honest...
    The hull is way too heavy for the 084 no matter what you'll do to it...
    Most hulls for the 084 are in the 200lb range and some still won't run dry{say the engine is 150,reduction is 50 that's 200 leaving 400lbs hull weight for your rig}...So you either need to change the engine or lighten the hull load significantly...It's the general consensus a poly bottom in itself is too much weight for the 084 and so the reason for everyone using slick bottom on them..
    How is the engine angle in relationship to the hull ???
    I'm assuming you know Chuck was diagnosed with cancer and has closed shop to spend some time on the road traveling/quality family time?

Aluminum .120 14' X 76" hull
    Teledyne 4a084-4 engine
    Circle S 1.69:1 reduction
    67" Whirlwind "Razor X" prop

Forum Reader

Quote Originally Posted by Corky View Post