Thread: Craftsman 109 lathe modifications

Craftsman 109 lathe modifications

this last couple of months, i started playing with my little Craftsman 109 lathe again, i figured this forum is dedicated to mini airboats, why not talk about a mini lathe, that many consider to not be more than a toy.
    these were an entry level lathe that Craftsman built from the 1920's to the 1960's. not a lot of bells or whistles on it. and it is not made to do the heavy stuff. it came with a 3" chuck and a bored out 1/2" spindle that turned it.
    for the past couple of years i have been fighting worn out chucks and the other nuances that it has, but now i am looking to see what improvement that i can do to it. so it can be functional for me.
    i had purchased this from my friend that has been helping me with all of my projects,
    but for Christmas, one of my daughters gave me a quick change chuck and some bits, and this started me to see what i can improve on this small lathe.
    i know that with small spindle, a steady rest would be in order, craftsman never made upgrades for this lathe, so i need to fab all these things up. so it gives me time to think about what and how i want to improve is functionality.
    last week i picked up a Bison 3-1/4" chuck, and man does that make the lathe look small, and then i am realizing that the tail stock can and will get in the way. so i had to see if the quick release that i had for the steady rest would work on the tail stock. And IT Does.
    here in a little while a lot of small parts, that are under 2.5 inches in diameter, i should be able to do with no problem, it will just take time. i figure about 1 hour on my lathe, is almost equal to less than 5 minutes on my friends. but maybe with a steady rest and a few other things, i might get the time comparison a little closer. i don't hope for much, but something has to be better.