Thread: Thrust improvement, more bang for the buck.

Thrust improvement, more bang for the buck.

• I am a retired engineer with proven, practical info on shrouding/ducting props. If done right you might double thrust, make less noise use less gas. use lower hp, less costly and lighter engines. You guys have a lot of skill. If there is sufficient interest I will post some practical proven info. I am interested in any of your comments or questions and will respond.

Re: Thrust improvement, more bang for the buck.

I would like to hear your thoughts.
    Ron

I'd be interested to read what you have. Do you have any real life results in an airboat situation? I know that you just can't throw any prop in a shroud and make it work, the prop has to be designed to work in a shroud. I've seen experiments with shrouds in the past but no real world use of the setup. I'd think that a person would need to have a prop manufacturer on board to see real results.

I'll move this thread to General Tech Talk
    Please check out our YouTube channel and subscribe! Our YouTube Channel helps fund the site. Check it out at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTv...FrJP7yQVFVZnyA

Following

Yes, I'm interested in learning what you've discovered
    11'6" Marty Bray Hull
    4A084 Continental
    Circle "S" 1.69:1 Reducer
    67" Whirlwind Razor X Prop
    SS Rigging

A lot of current R&D is aimed at military drones or getting a Phd and seem heavier on computerized fluid dynamics than clarity. Here are a few info links for starters culled what real world work shows are the key points.

- THE DUCTED PROPELLER FOR STOL AIRPLANES, 1964 - 8 pgs – Raspet- Miss State
    - MARVELETTE – tests- quote from conclusion, “AN INVESTIGATION OF THE SHROUDED PROPELLER PROPULSIVE SYSTEM ON THE MARVELETTE AIRCRAFT” 1964- 80 pgs – Raspet
    - MARVEL “XV-11A - DESCRIPTION AND PRELIMINARY FLIGHT TEST”