Thread: New 4A032 Deck Over Build for my kiddos.....

New 4A032 Deck Over Build for my kiddos.....

OK... here she is.. about 98% complete anyway... only thing I haven't done is the black, non-skid on the deck.

Thanks to all of you that have taken the time to post your project detail as I never would have had the nerve to take on a project like this otherwise... I am a very novice welder, and had zero experience bending or shaping metal in any way, shape or form prior to this project. Starting out, I was flying pretty blind, and really wasn't sure if any of this would work, so went pretty crude on the hull.. I used whatever inexpensive materials I could get my hands on as I didn't want to have too much time and money in a project that may or may not actually work... surrisingly.. the hull turned out pretty decent, despite it being a fairly half arse effort.

Details....

Power - 4A032-4 Continental Teledyne.. purchased new, in crate, zero hours for $350 + shipping off ebay
    Mods - I bored out the carb venturi to 9/16" (did get me about 200 RPM boost over stock), removed orig air cleaner (no notable performance difference), and removed the governor (no performance difference at all)
    Hub - $119 hub made for the 4a032 from Arrow Prop (fit like a glove.. very happy with it)
    Prop - Started with Ultra 3blade... started at 44", 12 degree pitch blocks.. would only make 2350 RPM.. dropped to 9 degree pitch blocks and got me to 2700rpm... shaved 5/8" off each blade... getting me down to 42 3/4" diameter, which is now making a consistent 2850 RPM with the 9 degree pitch blocks. Was hoping to get to 3000, but was scared to give up any more diameter. Might shave another 1/2" at some point..
    Tach - Tiny Tach purchased from Bob at Ultra Prop
    Lube - Royal Purple 10w30