Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BRC Airboats Australia

BRC Airboats Australia

So, you may recall that I started drawing up a design for a mini deckover like an aircraft wing with spars and ribs. Long story short, got fed up with local suppliers and just got Shane from PTM to develop the design brief, build a complete Roller and 2 hulls & riggings in kit form and ship to us in South Australia.
    This was in November 2011 and the shipment arrives this weekend! Very exciting.

These pictures are not new - Shane posted them on S.A. forum during the build. They show the innovating construction promising lightweight.
    Name:  airboat1.jpg
Views: 7826
Size:  75.0 KBName:  PTM 1.jpg
Views: 5107
Size:  65.9 KB

The engine is a Kohler 40 (CH1000) and prop is IVO prop. Reduction Drive is "home made" with Gates Carbon GT Belt on home made billet pulleys. We have run the engine with prop on the test stand, seems ok but need a few hours before we declare the reduction drive a success.
    Name:  kohler 1.jpg
Views: 5385
Size:  93.7 KB
    Last edited by BrettCNC; 10-09-2012 at 05:44 AM. Reason: wrong brand.

If the prototypes work well and are fun with the 40HP engine we will try get enough interest to justify importing a batch of hull kits from Shane, building them in South Aus. and hopefully getting a mini airboat following established.
    We will be submitting a story on our venture to Airboating Magazine who have generously donated a case of back issues for me to hand out to help spark interest.
    When the project goes commercial we will launch a website for potential Australian customers brcairboats.com.au

Very nice work on the reduction drive. Keep us updated on your progress!
    Please check out our YouTube channel and subscribe! Our YouTube Channel helps fund the site. Check it out at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTv...FrJP7yQVFVZnyA