Thread: New

Forum Reader

New

Hello everyone I'm new to the airboat world but I decided a few days ago
    To build a mini airboat with my little boy and I have a 11hp Honda
    My question is would that motor be large enough or have enough hp to
    Plane a mini airboat? Thank and any tips would be greatly appreciated

newtoair,

Welcome to the Mini forum, joining is a good first step for you're build. I like the idea of building a Mini with your boy, a good father/son project.

As far as a 11hp engine getting a boat to plane out, I would say, no way. It would probably push it around ok, but if you need it to plane, things need to be right. The
    first thing is to keep it as light weight as practical.

The next thing is more power, and how much it will take should be researched a lot before spending your hard earned dollars. I would start by looking around the archives of this site. A lot of guys have tried different engine/prop/hull combinations, and you can benefit from their efforts. Remember you never know for sure what will work until someone tries it. Don't be bashful about asking questions, chances are someone on here has the info you need and will be glad to share it.

Good luck to you and your son,
    Dave

KWAZY old Southerner... Duane Scarborough's Avatar
    Welcome to the forum. We're not big, but we are civil. (Mostly)

Building a boat with your son sounds like a fun father/son project.

But honestly, you're NOT going to get much performance from 11 HP. You could build something that would be fun to play with in a pond, but that's about it.

Even with 35-40 HP things have got to be just right to get decent performance.

Duane
    A KWAZY old Southerner... and darn PROUD of it.

Airboat Pros MiniPro 116 / Frog Spit
    SS rigging - with side by side seating
    Teledyne 4A084-4 engine
    Solex H30/31 Carb
    Arrow Prop 1.73:1 reduction
    67" Whirlwind 2 blade Mini Prop

under construction