Thread: Homebuilt redrive support

Question Homebuilt redrive support

I'm working on a redrive for a k341 Kohler magnum 16hp and a 48" ultraprop.
    I'm looking at components at the the 2 web sites below.
    Will 2 belts be enough should I just plan on 4?
    I'm going to use a 1" shaft.
    What size pulleys should I use to get the most from the engine?
    I may upgrade the motor to 25hp 0r 30hp after I get next year.
    The 16hp will be enough to do what I want to for the time being.

https://www.surpluscenter.com/home.asp

http://www.metalsdepot.com/products/...l/Farm&aident=

KWAZY old Southerner... Duane Scarborough's Avatar
    Zion,

I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I think 2 V-belts should be plenty for a 16 HP engine.

Most engines like you're planning to use are designed to peak at about 3600 RPM.

Most props in that size are intended to run at about 2750 RPM max. You really should talk to Ultra Prop to find out for sure.

The following is just an example:

3600 RPM engine
    2750 RPM prop

3600/2750 = 1.3

So you may not need a high reduction.

Heck, you may not need a reduction drive at all. Give Ultra Prop a call.

Papee has ran a larger Ultra Prop on his 45 HP 4A084, direct drive, and seems to be happy with it.

The extra work, expense, and complexity may not be worth it in your situation.

Duane
    Last edited by Duane Scarborough; 05-28-2011 at 06:51 PM.
    A KWAZY old Southerner... and darn PROUD of it.

Airboat Pros MiniPro 116 / Frog Spit
    SS rigging - with side by side seating
    Teledyne 4A084-4 engine
    Solex H30/31 Carb
    Arrow Prop 1.73:1 reduction
    67" Whirlwind 2 blade Mini Prop

under construction

It's just a matter of time before you go with a bigger motor, I'd go with the 4 pulley. You may only need two belts on it for that motor but at least you will have the capability to move up in engine size. For the difference in price it should be an easy decision.