Thread: hello

hello

Guys...new here....
    restored an old wooden fan boat here in Pa....
    need some advice....its an old boat from the 70's...I am a woodworker hobbyist..so I took it on...never had an airboat.....its a great little rig and knock on wood its been runnin great.. added push button start...been fun this past fall with my little boy....took a while to restore it... I fiberglassed the seams and part of the hull...
    I would like a new prop....can I put a 3 blade on their from arrow prop..
    its a 18hp briggs and stratton engine original I guess... with a 42in banks maxwell prop..
    4 bolt....
    any help would be greatly appreciated
    Attached Images Attached Images  

You could put a 3 blade on it but they are more expensive and I doubt you would notice any difference between it and a new 2 blade from Arrow Props. I ran a 42 2 blade on an 18 hp opposed Briggs for a few years before going bigger. That boat looks like one of Snyders old wooden boats. There's not to many of them around any more.

Where are you? I'm near Millersburg.
    Please check out our YouTube channel and subscribe! Our YouTube Channel helps fund the site. Check it out at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTv...FrJP7yQVFVZnyA

KWAZY old Southerner... Duane Scarborough's Avatar
    PAWOODBOAT,

Welcome to the forum.

You done a BAD thing by restoring that boat.

Next thing you know, you'll be hooked, and will have started on another.

Shame on you. Shame, shame, shame.

Seriously, talk with Don Miller at Arrow Prop. He'll get you going in the right direction.

Duane
    A KWAZY old Southerner... and darn PROUD of it.

Airboat Pros MiniPro 116 / Frog Spit
    SS rigging - with side by side seating
    Teledyne 4A084-4 engine
    Solex H30/31 Carb
    Arrow Prop 1.73:1 reduction
    67" Whirlwind 2 blade Mini Prop

under construction

small world

Quote Originally Posted by Papee View Post