Thread: 032 carb modification and build tips

032 carb modification and build tips

Can any one tell me how to modify the carb on a 032 4 cylinder motor? also any other tips on enhancing motor HP and performance?

This is my first build, Chuck from air boat pros has been a big help in getting me a hull and the motor, now I'm ready to start on the engine stand and cage. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Morrie
    Platte river near Plattsmouth, Ne.

Re: 032 carb modification and build tips

morrie,

Welcome to the site. Talking to Chuck, and joining this site
    are the two wisest things you could do if you are interested in
    a mini airboat. You have a good start, and the guys on here
    are more than willing to help you out any way they can, as far as good advise etc.

I have not had 032 experience. Mine is an 084, that I made up exhaust headers for, and a solex carb.

I would tend to think you might be better off to consider a higher HP engine, before you spend a lot of time and money on an 032. Just my opinion.

Dave
    IF YOU WON'T STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS, THEN JUST STAND IN FRONT OF THEM!

KWAZY old Southerner... Duane Scarborough's Avatar

Morrie,

Welcome to the forum. We're all about helping each other here. If you have questions, then throw them out. There is really no such thing as a stupid question.

Like Buster, I have a 4A084, and no experience with an 032.

I agree with Buster, you might want to consider more HP now, while it'd still be easy to change. But there have been Mini's built with even less HP than the 032 has to offer. You'll need to be especially careful about weight though.

Chuck and Papee would probably be your best sources for 032 carb mod info.

Good luck with your project, and please keep us posted.

Duane
    A KWAZY old Southerner... and darn PROUD of it.

Airboat Pros MiniPro 116 / Frog Spit
    SS rigging - with side by side seating
    Teledyne 4A084-4 engine
    Solex H30/31 Carb
    Arrow Prop 1.73:1 reduction