PDA

View Full Version : Need some opinions

txriverrat
05-06-2013, 09:09 PM
I am fixing to start a mini and I need to pick some of your heads
hull will be alu .125 64 inches wide 11 ft 7 inches long with 16 inch sides
hull is for river running on the Brazos in Tx it will have no chines
Talked to Competition Props today and will order a 59 inch 4 blade
I have a brand new 20 hp Kohler that I am going to try but I am pretty sure I will wind up with a 44 hp Generac
I will build my on reduction.
Papee I know you like the flat bottoms with no chines
But hope everyone will voice the opinion
Thanks ahead of time
Ron

aewrigh
05-08-2013, 10:20 PM
Hey Ron, this is a great site but the replies are few and far between it seems. I am new to this sight as well. From all of my reading, that 20 hp you have would not move a boat that big very well at all. I just picked up two of the 084's they talk so highly of but I don't know how to get the damned things running ha ha. My boat is a .125 slick bottom with 54 inch bottom, 74 inches across the top, 20 inch sides, 20 inch transom, and almost 12 foot long. I will be running a 66 inch ivo prop. Good luck with your build!

txriverrat
05-09-2013, 04:20 PM
Aewrigh
Thanks for the reply
Not much activity here but a lot of good info. It sounds like papee is down sick so maybe it will pick up when he is doing better.
I built a wooden lake buggy and it was a good learning experience , then I built a 8 by 18 with a caddy on it ,sold that when I couldnt aford to run it any more
So now I want a mini , I am going to set the 20 horse up and see how it work but I am pretty sure there is a 44 generac in the future for this boat.
Then I will take the 20 hp and build a mini mini.
Ron

Papee
05-10-2013, 06:43 PM