PDA

View Full Version : Hull Plans Help!

Zion
01-31-2011, 01:29 PM
I have a Kohler k341 16hp and a 48" 3-blade ultra prop.
The engine is pretty heavy.
I'm going to build a hull.Probably from aluminum or possibly a composite of wood aluminum and fiberglass. I will only be using this boat for Bow hunting deer and bass fishing. It will be a single seater. Can I get some suggestion for hull plans and dimensions? I'll need room for some gear and a large deer.
I can pick up a few aluminum boats for material. I'm going to purchase a heavy duty rivet tool for using 1/4"stainless rivets.
What kind of plywood can be used?
I have to drive 200 miles to get Marine plywood.
I found a good price for 1/4" marine plywood online but it cost $200.00 to ship:shock:
Apparently is shipped in a protective case.
I can build it from all aluminum and fiberglass. I have some experience with fiberglass.
I don't expect to be hi-balling but it would be nice to be able to get out of the hole quickly.
Thanks
Zion

Duane Scarborough
01-31-2011, 06:28 PM
Zion,

Wow ! :eek:

That shipping expense makes it some really expensive marine plywood.

You must live at the edge of the world. :cry: ( I think you've said before where you live, but I forget. Please add it to your profile. ;thumb;)

Given what you've said, you MAY be better off finding a couple of small (hopefully identical) aluminum Jon boats, cutting them lengthwise (off center on each, of course) and joining them back together. I really don't know what's available to you.

When I started looking for suitable hulls here in NC, I didn't have much luck. That's why I ordered one from Airboat Pros, and drove way down to FL to pick it up.

I assume that's not an option for you. There's been many hulls built from plywood, and fiber glassed over, but they tend to be VERY heavy.

What you need is LIGHT. So, your best bet may be the aluminum Jon boat route.

Good luck with your project.

Please keep us updated.

Duane

Zion
01-31-2011, 06:53 PM
Thanks