PDA

View Full Version : Wide blade or Skinny blade

Randy Jr
03-16-2008, 05:49 AM
I'm jus curious whats the diffrence in all these props with the skinny or narrow blades then i also see these super wide props on some airboats whats the reason for that and how dose it affect proformance ect... all i can guess is its for people that just have and excess of HP.. and need more blade to soak it up... but im just a rookie so go ahead and explain this to me airboat builders

Snapper
03-16-2008, 09:42 PM
randy I'm new also but I think the wider the prop is because it actual has more surface area it can actually push more air and therefore usually generate more thrust at a lower rpm , at least I think thats right , if it aint it sure sounds good don't it ... but you may want to check with dave or chuck to be certain , cause I may be steering you wrong ... I'm pretty sure wider is usually better , hey randy my lil boy saw your pictures and wants to build his own now , he built a little styrofoam hull and hot glued a bunch of cut up coat hangers together to make a cage and took a battery operated electric motor and mounted a lil prop on it and made some cardboard rudders and plays with it in the bath tub , it's awesome to see his little mind at work , hes already starting to lay out the wood in the garage for his project mini too , If I can get my wife to post some pictures I will , of his little toy he made ...

Papee
03-16-2008, 10:13 PM
Wider blades are better, the wider the blade the more air you push but it also takes more horse power to push a wider blade. I'm sure as we go on with the mini class you will see some experimenting with wider blades. As of yet I don't think that anyone makes a wide blade in a length that can be used on a mini. Maybe at some point these guys will be build the higher horse power and experiment with it. I'm not sure the demand for a wide blade mini prop would make it worth someone making one available. Never say never though.

Randy Jr